Campsite - Locronan: 35 km

Tourism in Loronan: To see, to do

Located 15 minutes from Douarnenez, Locronan is one of the most beautiful villages in France. Very early on, it benefited from protective measures as Historic Monuments and its architectural heritage is typical of the region.

Many movies have been shot there, the most striking for the village being “Tess” by Roman Polanski, which in 1978 made it possible to bury all the electricity networks.

The latest one was released in the summer of 2022. This is the “Prison Island”, a series of 6 episodes broadcast on France 2.

Visit Locronan

To visit Locronan, park in the car parks (paying in high season) on the parking lot outside the village. You can then stroll at your leisure in the cobbled streets that plunge us into another time.

Locronan shops

The city is full of small shops that showcase craftsmanship: Cutlery, Leatherwork, Glassware, Pottery, Soapmaking … You will also find local designer shops there to bring back small Breton gifts far from the clichés.

For gourmets, do not hesitate to taste the kouign aman from the bakery Le Guillou on the square, or bring back some Breton beers from Loup Garou Gourmand.

Saint Ronan church

The name of Locronan comes from the Latin Locus Romani which means “the consecrated place of Ronan”, Irish bishop founder of the city  The particularity of the church of Locronan is that it is a double building, made up of the church of Saint Ronan and the penity (which means hermitage in Breton). You can discover a recumbent statue of Saint Ronan, carved in Kersanton stone, but also a treasure that will impress children. 

From the 15th  at the 17th century, the weaving of canvas for sails contributed to the fame and prosperity of the city. There were as many as 150 looms in operation. Several buildings in the main square date from this period, such as the Hôtel de la Compagnie des Indes and that of the Bureau des fabrics. The oldest building is the Gauthier hotel, which dates from 1624. It which now houses the Celtic bookstore. 

La Troménie

In Locronan, there are two Troménies, which is unique in Brittany. They are processional marches made in silence, in Ronan’s footsteps. They perpetuate a tradition which would have Celtic origins. If you are lucky enough to go there, you can admire the traditional costumes and banners of Locronan and the surrounding villages.

La petite Troménie takes place every year. It takes place on the second Sunday in July. Its 6km course is accessible all year round.

La grande Troménie takes place every 6 years between the second and third Sunday in July. (The next big troménie will take place in 2025.) Its course of approximately 12 km forms a quadrilateral passes partly on private grounds. It is accessible for a whole week in order to allow everyone to do so freely.

Ar Zoñj Chapel

To end your visit in style, follow the mountain road to its summit. You will discover the Ar Zoñj Chapel (Chapel of Remembrance) rebuilt in 1977. It is an ideal place for a short break admiring the view, from Ménez Hom to the Bay of Douarnenez , located just 15 minutes by car.

Book your holidays in southern Finistère!

4* campsite with direct access to the beach between Fouesnant and Concarneau.

Camping - Locronan : 35 km

Tourisme à Locronan : A voir, à faire

Situé à 15 min de Douarnenez, Locronan est l'un des plus beaux villages de France. Il a bénéficié très tôt de mesures de protections aux titre des Monuments Historiques et son patrimoine architectural est typique de la région.

De nombreux long métrages et feuilletons y ont été tourné, le plus marquant pour le village étant « Tess », de Roman Polanski, qui a permis dès 1978 d’enfouir tous les réseaux électriques.

Le dernier en date sera diffusé au cours de l’été 2022. Il s’agit de l' »Ile prisonnière », une série de 6 épisodes diffusés sur France 2.

beg meil
beg meil

Visiter Locronan

Pour visiter Locronan, garez vous dans les des parkings (payants à la haute saison) aux abords du village. Vous pourrez ensuite flâner à loisir dans les ruelles pavées qui nous plongent dans un autre temps.

Les boutiques de Locronan

La ville regorge de petites boutiques qui mettent en valeur le savoir faire artisanal : Coutellerie, Travail du Cuir, Verrerie, Poterie, Savonnerie… Vous y trouverez aussi des boutiques de créateurs locaux pour ramener des petits cadeaux bretons loin des clichés. 

Pour les gourmands, n’hésitez pas à goûter le kouign aman de la boulangerie Le Guillou sur la place, ou ramener quelques bières bretonnes du Loup Garou Gourmand.
beg meil

L’église Saint Ronan

Le nom de Locronan vient du latin Locus Romani qui signifie « le lieu consacré de Ronan », évêque irlandais fondateur de la villeLa particularité de l’église de Locronan est que c’est un bâtiment double, composé de l’église de Saint Ronan et du penity (qui signifie ermitage en breton). Vous pourrez y découvrir un gisant de Saint Ronan, taillé dans la pierre de Kersanton, mais également un trésor qui impressionnera les enfants. 

Du 15e au 17e siècle, le tissage des toiles destinée aux voiles a contribué à la renommée et à la prospérité de la ville. Il y eu jusqu’à 150 métiers à tisser en activité. De cette époque datent plusieurs bâtiments de la grand place, comme l’hôtel de la Compagnie des Indes et celui du Bureau des toiles. Le bâtiment le plus ancien est l’hôtel Gauthier, qui date de 1624. Il qui abrite aujourd’hui la librairie celtique. 

beg meil

La Troménie

A Locronan, il y a deux Troménies, ce qui est unique en Bretagne. Ce sont des marches processionnelles faites en silence, sur les pas de Ronan. Elles perpétuent une tradition qui aurait des origines celtiques. Si vous avez la chance de vous y rendre, vous pourrez admirer les costumes traditionnels et les bannières de Locronan et des communes environnantes. 

La petite Troménie a lieu chaque année. Elle se déroule le deuxième dimanche de juillet. Son parcours de 6km est accessible tout au long de l’année.

La grande Troménie a lieu tous les 6 ans le deuxième et le troisième dimanche de juillet. (La prochaine grande troménie aura lieu en 2025.) Son parcours de 12 km environ forme un quadrilatère passe en partie sur des terrains privée. Il est accessible pendant tout une semaine afin de permettre à chacun de le faire librement.

La chapelle Ar Zoñj

Pour clore votre visite en beauté, suivez la route de la Montagne jusqu’à son sommet. Vous y découvrirez la chapelle Ar Zoñj (chapelle du souvenir) reconstruite en 1977. C’est un lieu idéal pour une petite pause en admirant la vue, du Ménez Hom à la Baie de Douarnenez, située à seulement 15 min en voiture.

beg meil
beg meil
Réservez vos vacances en Finistère sud !